Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act

Version of section 5 from 2015-02-26 to 2024-06-19:

Marginal note:Appointment of chairperson

  •  (1) The chairperson of the commission for a province shall be appointed by the chief justice of that province from among the judges of the court over which the chief justice presides or, after consultation with the chief justice of any other branch or division of that court or any other superior court in that province, from among the judges of that branch, division or superior court.

  • Marginal note:Idem

    (2) In the event that no judge referred to in subsection (1) is able or free to act as chairperson or where, for any other reason, no appointment is made under subsection (1) within the time provided therefor by this Act, the Chief Justice of Canada or, in the event of the absence or incapacity of the Chief Justice of Canada, the senior puisne judge of the Supreme Court of Canada shall make the appointment from among such persons resident in that province as he deems suitable.

  • Marginal note:References

    (3) A reference in subsection (1) to the chief justice of a province includes a reference to the acting chief justice of the province or any person performing for the time being the duties of the chief justice of the province.

  • (4) and (5) [Repealed, 1998, c. 15, s. 25]

  • R.S., 1985, c. E-3, s. 5
  • 1993, c. 28, s. 78
  • 1998, c. 15, s. 25
  • 2015, c. 3, s. 80(E)

Date modified: